About Me

A little about myself and my family.

I was born in a small country town in Victoria and come from a family of 5 girls. My father was a hard worker like many from his era, his close friends used to call him “the little Aussie battler”.

I grew up surrounded by lots of family, In my early years there were my grandparents,  Great aunts, uncles, cousins and lots of family friends.

My sisters and i all attended the same Primary school, not together but spread out over the years. By the time Jenna (the youngest) started primary school, I’m confident we had pathed the way for her future and I’m pretty sure all the teachers were thinking “Not another bloody Muston”.

Family and friends are an important part of my life. Growing up and attending weekly sessions at the local lawn bowls club since i could crawl were always a highlight in my life. Every Friday it was the frozen chook raffle and raspberry lemonades while the oldies drank pots of beer and told stories. They tell stories of babysitting me and changing my nappies when i was a baby. That has to be the most embarrassing story I’ve heard and still hear today.

I remember my first Drive-in movie, it was Bedknobs and Broomsticks. My sister Kylie and i remember sitting in the very back of our papas orange cortina station wagon with the back up snuggled with a few blankets and pillows. I also recall being allowed to sit in the projector room while the movies were playing, watching the movie reels spinning around and talking to the projector guy. As nana was the manageress of the drive-in we had a few privileges. We used to sit on the counter in the canteen and watch the customers come in while eating Dixie cup ice creams and drinking the old fashioned orange juice boxes. We felt so grown up and important when the customers used to talk to us.

tc-cortina-wagon1

Having 4 sisters was ok, we used to play elastics, ride our bikes, go to the park till dark and walk to the corner store to buy a full bag of milk bottle lollies for 20cents can you believe it. Those were the days!

At Christmas and Easter time I used to go camping on the Murray River with my entire family, cousins, aunts, uncles and grandparents included. We had some great times boating and fishing. River bank fishing was my favourite as i really didn’t like going in the boat. There was a time when I was about 7 or 8 years old when I was down by the river bank just playing in the mud with a stick and all I remember is my dog puddles barking from the top of the bank. He was going ballistic, only to find out after that there was a brown snake between me and my dog. Puddles ran down the bank and got between me and the snake and continued to bark. My dad came to the top of the bank to see what all the commotion was with puddles. He saw the snake and saw puddles was protecting me. Dad grabbed his shovel and swiftly ran down the bank with everybody else to kill the snake. My dog puddles was a hero, thankfully he was not bitten with all the commotion. Truthfully all I remember was puddles barking madly and me playing in the mud. I have been told this story dozens of times by family and they always praise my dog puddles for his alertness and bravery. My dad brought puddles as a puppy the day I was born back in 1971. He was with us until my 16th year. He was a great and loyal dog. One that could never be replaced. I miss him!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Su Leslie says:

    Thanks for following ZimmerBitch. I’m looking forward to reading your blog as you get going. Cheers, Su.

    Like

Leave a comment